I swear we are all part of The Matrix

We the citizens of planet earth are all interconnected in some way shape or form. There is no denying it, I know that through your networks you will find a way that you are connected to Dan in England or Ray in the United States. It’s the world we live in now, we are a multicultural world and it is all to do with the global networks we are a part of. The internet and air travel are the big contributors global networks allowing for companies to expand and contribute to the globalisation of this world; however, what exactly are these networks?

There are 3 types of networks that are around these days: centralised, decentralised and distributed.  Each network has their own unique style for example, if we look at our university we have centralised networks in lectures with the teacher the central hub and we the students being the nodes connected to the teacher, a Decentralised network would be our class being broken up into our tutorial groups and our tutors the central nodes here, and finally we have our own distributed network amongst ourselves, we all can connect to each other through various social media and interactions.  I know we are encouraged to create our own distributed networks through Twitter, WordPress and my class’s own subreddit.

The reasons we need to understand networks in this day and age is because let’s face it; they are an underlying structure in our everyday lives (Castells, 2004). The global networks we have now have only benefitted our society. If it wasn’t for them we wouldn’t have globally recognised companies like McDonalds or Disney. Understanding this is the first step in learning about networks and how they control our lives.

Reference list:

Castells, M (2004) ‘Afterword: why networks matter.’ In Network Logic: Who governs in interconnected world? Pp. 221-224

Mitew, T (2013) ‘DIGC202 Introduction: Engaging Global Networks’, Lecture Prezi, DIGC202, UOW, 30th/7/2013,

Image sourced from: http://wallpapersus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Matrix-World-Map.jpg

This entry was posted in DIGC202 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I swear we are all part of The Matrix

  1. Kris Mugavin says:

    I actually just read another blog post comparing networks to the matrix, and I’ll say it again, I think it’s a fantastic metaphor and for someone like me who needs movie references to understand anything I think it works very well.
    However when you say that “global networks we have now have only benefitted our society.” I don’t entirely agree, I think that maybe you should explore both the positive and negative impacts of having such a global and influential network.

  2. bjayh says:

    I can understand what he means by saying there are only benefits. If you look at the problems that arise from global networks, it’s all just steps in the chain to a connected society. It’s not going to be smooth but there will always be friction when new connections are made. As for multinational companies. That’s a completely different issue.
    This is a pretty decent post btw. I’m not sure I agree that social media is a distributed network. It’s all tied to a head node of the software being used. I guess that’s always the case though, within the actual social medium itself it’s distributed.

  3. amysj says:

    Your first paragraph reminded me of the 6 degrees of separation. Which apparently due to to networks (as you said connected to dan in England via your networks) has decreased to the 5 degrees of separation. Apparently with our networks, such as Facebook more of the world is now connected and they have defeated one of the degrees which separate everyone.
    However, I recently found an article claiming Facebook has further shrunk this to four degrees of separation; http://mashable.com/2011/11/22/facebook-six-degrees/

    Very interesting post

  4. dani2894 says:

    Great post! I absolutely agree with your point that networks are an underlying structure in our everyday lives, whether or not we realise they exist and ironically at the same time they have both benefits- satisfies the need for connectivity and belonging and drawbacks – being categorised.

  5. youfoundbec says:

    I really liked this post 🙂 While I had heard the example of the lecture situation as a Centralised Network before I thought talking about the tutorial groups was a really interesting take on it and I can definitely see it. I thought you covered the topic pretty comprehensively and you even linked it to globalisation and major corporations which I thought was really interesting. Awesome post and loved the Roosterteeth reference.

  6. ashblogspace says:

    great example of how to explain centralised and decentralised networks. I think that using that formula to break down many social situations to expose networking is an interesting way of viewing life in this digital age we live in. From the networking it takes to organise events to simply meeting friends on a Sunday afternoon, the convenience of networking now days has had a dramatic effect of the way we live our lives .

  7. ellkae says:

    I agree, some bad will alway accompanies good change. We’re seeing drastic alterations in the ways in which society and individuals operate due to the growth of these networks. Its a big technological change in a relatively small period of time, there are bound to be some bumps in the road

  8. Pingback: My blog a network? Maybe, who nodes! | The Internet and I

  9. I really appreciate the opening line of this post. I’ve always loved the 7 degrees from Kevin Bacon Theory and you got me thinking about that and how connections work throughout this whole post. Great examples, good use of sources, very good post.

  10. rainingcatsandblogs2 says:

    Castells presents many points in “Why Networks Matter”, and I like that you focus on the short yet utterly important fact that networks are an “underlying structure of our everyday lives”. Let’s face it, communication technology is essential! And where would communication be without networks?

Leave a Reply

