Values in the Workforce

So here we are back at uni one final time, the final session, and it time to reflect on my own values in the workforce and the values held in my desired profession. If there is one thing I have learned in the 23 years on this planet, its that the values you hold define you as a person. While they can change and be manipulated in different ways the core values will always be the same. For me, the most important value and the value I will never compromise on is honesty. My whole life I find that I will be brutally honest with those I know and trust. Whether I am in my professional life or personal life I will tell you exactly what I think and who I am, take it or leave it, tell me I’m an idiot and see if I truly care. That is who I will always be, I might act like a sarcastic joker who looks like the last thing he took seriously was kindergarten, but deep down I hold honesty above everything.

So how does this relate to my chosen profession? Well in my profession of being a producer/video editor, honesty about someones work will make or break a career.  Telling someone their work is “okay” or “good job buddy” when their work isn’t the best is not going to be doing anyone any favors. Its like telling someone they know how to manage a budget well when the debt has doubled since they took over. In the video editing world where people have a certain regard for quality in the products they pay for, it helps to be honest when you aren’t happy with the quality of work produced. For a personal example I look to my own contract job. Currently I am contracted to take between 6-9 games of football filmed around the Illawarra and create a highlight package for each of them around 3-5 minutes long. The highlights I am instructed to place in these packages range from tries to line breaks to good plays to the classic slap-a-thon known as a fight. The sheer pressure to create this many videos in such a short turn around (get the videos Saturday, have the packages done by Monday) makes it hard to quality control all the videos. I happily welcome criticism from my supervisors when they have similar values to me with honesty. I am able to take their criticism and learn from my mistakes for the next weekend when the deadline looms again.

Anyway enough about myself, this is an assignment after all and now its time to integrate the best thing in the world into this post ACADEMIC ARTICLES!!!!

How does the value of honesty relate to the workplace? Well you can look at it like this, you are employed to give your time to help further a business’s goals in exchange for money that is determined to be of equal value for the time you give up. In the workplace if someone is dishonest, it can cost the business more money that could be in your pockets in the long run. Reinout E. de Vries  and Jean-Louis van Gelder look at the idea of honesty in the workplace in their article Explaining workplace delinquency: The role of Honesty–Humility, ethical culture, and employee surveillance In the article they look at the HEXACO model of personality posits, This model describes a persons personality within 6 dimensions that together form the HEXACO acronym. One of the said traits or dimensions in Honesty-Humility.  It is described that an Honest worker is one who can be trusted to perform his duties without constant surveillance. The example they use is one of a retail store. In their research they found that companies that have higher end security and surveillance systems tend to have less theft by both employees and workers. In an ideal world however, employers should be able to trust their employees not to steal and not to slack off while they are on their time.

Another study conducted by Jocelyn Wiltshire, Joshua S. Bourdage and Kibeom Lee looked at how the Honesty- Humility trait effected how employees see internal politics within an organisation. The results found that employees at jobs that are highly political suffer from job stress, they also were not happy with their employment and conducted counterproductive behavior.  In an organization that is highly political it becomes harder to trust not only your superiors but your co-workers as well. They could stab you in the back at any point and are all obviously not that honest. This is a situation I feel I would struggle in, internally I would want to call out everyone for being dishonest and treating their co-workers like crap, but also I would find it hard to work in this environment.

So lets sum all this up into a nice tiny package so we can all make sense of it. Honesty is an important value for an individual to have. In today’s corporate world there are companies out there that don’t value honesty within their company. People who work in companies that are highly dishonest internally tend to be unhappy. I don’t want to be unhappy and being happy means being honest with everyone. In the world of Video editing and producing, it would make sense that companies in this field try to use honesty to produce better products for their clients. In this post we looked at a personal example as well as research looking at honesty in the workforce. So that sums it up in a nice little package.

REFERENCE LIST

Wiltshire J, Bourdage J.S, Lee K, 2013, ‘Honesty-Humility and Perceptions of Organizational Politics in Predicting Workplace Outcomes’, Journal of Business & Psychology, Vol 29, no.1 pp 235-251 <http://eds.a.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.uow.edu.au/eds/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=e4570307-38e3-438d-886c-56a95ced2852%40sessionmgr4001&vid=2&hid=4113&gt;

De Vries R.E, Van Gelder J.L, 2015 ‘Explaining workplace delinquency: The role of Honesty–Humility, ethical culture, and employee surveillance’ Personality and Individual Differences, vol. 86, no.1 pp 112-116 <http://ac.els-cdn.com.ezproxy.uow.edu.au/S019188691500389X/1-s2.0-S019188691500389X-main.pdf?_tid=27fc02e4-4bbd-11e5-8881-00000aab0f6c&acdnat=1440571329_c37d6869f786331e2f58fe103fb3d2b0&gt;

Image sourced from <http://31.media.tumblr.com/7259fd1d42b7499d9240840ce937dc7a/tumblr_inline_mw427vPvz11ruu18v.gif.>

Image sourced from <http://img02.deviantart.net/8020/i/2010/323/9/3/the_more_you_know_by_stathisnhx-d33639v.png.>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, University. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Values in the Workforce

Leave a Reply

